Social Media: Monitoring of your brand

brandingSocial Media: Monitoring of your brand

What is branding? When it comes to branding we tend to think about the different companies. We think about what they produce, what their customer service is like, the quality of the product etc. If you think about it in the simplest terms,”Branding It is what people say about you when you’re not in the room”. The brand could be a large company, it could be a small “mom & pop” LLC, or it could be you as an individual. As a teacher I always tell my students that YOUR brand is YOU. I remind them that what they do in their professional / personal lives, both physically and virtually (such as social media) can affect your present and your future. Monitoring YOUR brand is so important now! Before people might say something about your to their friends via word of mouth but now we have social media. In a simple click, a person can share their opinion / experiences with the whole world. For example, I personally had a wonderful experience at Starbuck on afternoon. I was so impressed that I sent a tweet out to both Starbucks and Barnes and Nobles about how impressed I was with this employee. I normally don’t send out those kinds of tweets but this person blew me away with her professionalism and overall attitude. I had to share! Within minutes I had a reply from Starbucks. I felt as if I had a personally connection with the company. I also had a not very pleasant experience with a different company. I tweeted that company with my observations and again, within minutes I had not only a reply but the company started following me on Twitter. Of course, I wonder, as my concerns or kudos really being address with the higher ups or is this some sort of bot doing the replies. The answer is, I’m not sure. But as a consumer, I admit, it makes me feel good that someone seems to be paying attention to my concerns and kudos.

Now, let’s think of this as an individual (or a a teacher, in my case) instead of a large company, there are people (students / parents / etc.) out there right now who might be talking about you as a person, an employee, a teacher, a staff, your class, the school or school system that you teach at, etc. Why not see what they are saying and use that opportunity to educate, motivate, and inspire. To go back to old western movies, let’s head them off at the pass. Let’s connect with people and address their concerns and pass along those kudos. Let’s make them feel as if they are apart of the community and the solution.

To read more about “Social Media Monitoring: Your Biggest Missed Opportunity?” you should check out this article published by HootSuite: http://blog.hootsuite.com/social-media-monitoring-your-biggest-missed-opportunity/

Leave a Reply

