Creating Texture Backgrounds in Photoshop

Fix in Photoshop

I love Adobe Photoshop (PS) as much as someone else. It is a very powerful tool that can do so much! When I watched the Adobe Launch event for Creative Cloud 2014 (CC14) I was so impressed and excited!

That being said we have to remember that PS is a tool and not a magician. I’ve seen so many people spend an enormous amount of time trying to fix something in PS with either no success or spending way too much time on it. Let’s face it, sometimes it is just easier to start over, reshoot the photo, take your own photo, and/or take time to learn new tricks to speed you up. I know there are only so many hours, minutes, and seconds in a day but spending that time to learn something new can totally be worth the time in the end!

For example, let’s say that someone is looking for a nice texture for the background of their design. Of course, I can go online and search for either public domain or Creative Commons photos to use and that is fine. I could always pay for an awesome texture as well. Now, depending on the image that I’m looking for that could take awhile. On the other hand, I could create it and digitize that texture myself. If I want a bubble wrap texture, I just scan or photograph some actual bubble wrap. If I want a marble background, again, create it yourself and scan it / or photograph it. I know that sometimes this might be easier said than done. Sometimes we don’t have the means to do what we want and that’s why websites like http://www.istockphoto.com/ is out there! If it is a model shoot, you may not have access to that model again and I get that.

Now, my question to you is, “why not create and/or photograph your own textures”? There are so many fun and creative ways to make textures! As for photographic textures, my favorite two places to find textures are in hotels or just walking around outdoors. Take a moment and open your eyes, the world is a beautiful place! The more you do these sorts of things you can build up a library to use later design projects.

Let’s talk about making your own textures! A couple of my favorites are using food coloring, dish detergent, water, and a straw to make bubble prints. There are several different techniques when doing this but no matter which method you choose I know you’ll have a great time making the prints. Another texturizing technique that I really like is to marble the paper with shaving cream and food coloring. Below you’ll find a couple of videos that I found online. There are so many different ways to create fun textures and patterns, all you have to do is PLAY.

Here’s a couple of photos I’ve taken of texture. To view please visit my photography website by clicking here:

Bubble Printing    leaves

Leave a Reply

