scars

image of quote

“Never be ashamed of a scar. It simply means you were stronger than whatever tried to hurt you.”

I heard this quote today while watching the news. A survivor of the Boston Marathon Bomb quoted it as her reason that she would be a survivor and get past this horrible event. It got me to think about, how on one side all that we go through in our lives and how petty some it really is but on the other side how strong we really are when things get difficult. I remember that I had a student in my class a number of years ago who was in remission after being diagnosed with Leukemia. At first I admit I felt sad. He was so young and he and his family were fighting this battle. I remember one day while in class he asked to go to the front office to call home. I replied with “just use the phone back here so that you don’t have to walk back and forth to the front of the school”. He did and a few moments later the front office intercommed into my classroom and asked for me to send the student to the front office as he was being signed out. The student was absent the next and the day after that and I became worried. When I called home to check on him I was informed that due to his treatments he had stress fractures all through his hips. They went on to tell me that he was going to be going to get a complete hip replacement. I remember thinking, wow what a strong kid. He didn’t let on that he was hurting or in any pain even though I know that he must have been. He taught me so much in the several years that I ha him as a student. He was and is such an inspiration to me. At his 5 year mark for remission we, my class and I, gave him a “re-birthday” party. I’m happy to say that has graduated and is living his life. The quote really does ring true, doesn’t it?

“Never be ashamed of a scar. It simply means you were stronger than whatever tried to hurt you.”

Leave a Reply

