The magic of photography!

football

One of my first times photographing high school football.

The Magic of Photography!

My favorite thing about photography is being able to capture a moment in time. A moment that for the most part, can’t be re-created. To be a great photographer takes such knowledge and skill. I think most people don’t think of it that way. With DSLR cameras, point-in-shoot camera and cell phone camera being so easily accessible and cheap there a lot of people who think they are a “photographer”. Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of people out there who have an eye for composition but they might know the first thing about f-stops (apertures), shutter speeds, white balance, metering, etc, etc, etc…. For me one of the greatest challenges yet educational shoots that I do would be high school football. By day I’m a high school graphics teacher, by night, I’m a freelance photographer. During football season you can find me on the sidelines with my students teaching them about how to shoot the sport. It is hard enough to shoot fast moving people in the dark, especially on a poorly lite field, but to capture that moment and oh yeah try to make sure that you get their face, through the helmet, in the photograph! The photo above is from the first football game that I ever photographed about 7 years ago. Of course there are some technical problems with the photo but it one that I love. I’ve learn a lot in the process and I look forward to learning more. Like I tell my students, just because you might have learned about something once doesn’t mean that you know all there is to know about that subject. We must always remember that we are lifelong learners!

Leave a Reply

